NSF Award Ceremony for Science Popularization 2024

User Rating: 1 / 5

Star ActiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

The National Science Foundation (NSF) under the purview of the Ministry of Education is mandated to promote science education and popularize science among the public. Accordingly, several programmes and activities are being conducted by the NSF to deliver this mandate.  

In line with the STEAM initiative of the Ministry of Education, which was launched on the 31st of March 2023, the National Science Foundation (NSF) has been conducting various programmes to create awareness among school community on STEAM education and the way it can be integrated into the existing education system. The programmes are also aimed at empowering school children to become more creative and innovative personnel. Further, these training programmes and competitions give students hands-on experience to relate and apply subjects they learn in school to real-life situations, solving problems and creating research culture in schools. Moreover, NSF has planned to develop skillful future generation targeting 21st century STEM job market. Accordingly, NSF conducted its science competitions in 2023 on the theme “STEAM education for better future” with the participation of 4,000 students from around the country. The winners of these competitions were felicitated at the NSF Award Ceremony for Science Popularization (NACSP) which was held on 30th April 2024 at the Auditorium of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo under the patronage of Hon. Minister of Education, Dr Susil Premajayantha. Key note address of the event was delivered by Dr Melki Perera, Consultant and Specialist in Aesthetic medicine and Cosmetology. This event was organized by the Science Communication and Outreach Division (SCOD), NSF headed by Dr P.R.M.P. Dilrukshi and the team under the guidance of Dr Sepalika Sudasinghe, Director General and Prof. Ranjith Senarathne, Chairman of the NSF.

Support extended by Nawaloka Higher Education Institute, Atlas Axilla Co (Pvt.) Ltd. and Nestle Lanka Ltd. in making this event a success is greatly acknowledged. There were 700 participants at the event including school students, teachers, principals, scientists and officials from the Ministry of Education. More than 200 awards were conferred at this year ceremony under following categories:

  1. Kid Naturalist Programme (Grade 1-6) - 62 awards
  2. Science Competitions with STEAM approach (Grade 6 and above) -85 Awards
  3. Science Research Project Competition (Grade 9 and above) -36 Awards
  4. Sri Lanka Science and Engineering Fair (SLSEF) jointly with IESL -10 Awards
  5. NSF Best Teacher Award for the year on science popularization - 01 Lifetime award and 02 certificates of commendation and appreciation
  6. Best performed NSF School Science Societies who received Star ratings (5 stars; 4 stars and 3 stars).

List of winners

Essay Competition

Sinhala Medium

1st Place - D.P.K.G. Tharushi Deumini Dasanayaka - CP/Denu/Handessa Maha Vidyalaya, Daulagala, Peradeniya
2nd Place - Nipun Dhananjaya Premarathna - Dharmaraja College, Kandy.
3rd Place - W.G. Senugi Lehansa - Delta Gemunupura Maha Vidyalaya, Pussallawa

Tamil Medium

1st Place - Paraniha Selvendradas - J/Skandavarodaya College, Jaffna.
2nd Place - Thevasihamani Kasanthanan - Tk/Sri Ramakrishna College, Akkaraipattu.
3rd Place - S. Logalakshan - Tk/Sri Ramakrishna College, Akkaraipattu.

English Medium

1st Place - Mohamed Nowzad Beena Dhaneen - KM/Mahmud Ladies College (National School), Kalmunai.
2nd Place - Aaysha Mohideen - BADI-Udin Mahamud Girl’s College, Kandy.
3rd Place - Athiyya Jezee - BT/St. Cecilla’s Girls’ College, Batticaloa.
3rd Place - M.S. Shafa - British International College, Polgahawela.

Short Science Stories (Fiction)
Song Competition
Viridu Competition
Digital Story Telling
Role Play Competition
Poster Competition

Live recording of the programme